Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Solaris Configure Solaris zone on new network Post 303024480 by hicksd8 on Tuesday 9th of October 2018 01:08:11 PM
Old 10-09-2018
On Solaris 10 zones they are configured autonomously and are not aware of the global zone configuration which is independent of the local zone.

On Solaris 10 the default gateway is configured in /etc/defaultrouter which normally contains one single line with a left justified ip address of the gateway, for example:

Code:

and that's all there is in the file. It may be edited with your favorite editor and is then read at (zone) boot time.

So you can mess with this inside the local zone and not affect your global zone.

Last edited by hicksd8; 10-09-2018 at 03:16 PM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to configure the network at Sun Solaris

Can anybody help me on how to configure the network in Sun Solaris. This is my first time to touch sun system please help!!!:confused: :confused: (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: jameswong
2 Replies

2. Solaris

Solaris 10 network configuration problem with zone

I am seeking help from the gurus in this forum and hope that I can find answers soon. Anyone who provide the answers will be greatly appreciated. I have a sparc box with Solaris 10 on it. We install Solaris with zone structure. One global zone and two other zone. I installed Oracle DB on global... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: duke0001
6 Replies

3. Solaris

how to configure network in solaris 10?

Hi..i have installed solaris 10 on vmware. I m not able connect to internet. pls help in detail. how to solve the problem. During the installation i have put no DHCP. cofigured manually ( Ip 192.168.1.9) default gateway 192.168.1.1 . (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: johnavery
3 Replies

4. Solaris

Creating A Solaris Zone - Unable to install - Are network settings required?