Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users Need optimized awk/perl/shell to give the statistics for the Large delimited file Post 303023382 by neutronscott on Friday 14th of September 2018 11:54:42 PM
Old 09-15-2018
something like:

Code:
awk -F\| '!a[$1]++ { print $1 > "dis_col1.txt"; } !b[$2]++ { print $2 > "dis_col2.txt"; } END { print NR; }' file

This User Gave Thanks to neutronscott For This Post:

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Could someone give me an example of awk accessing array defined in Korn Shell?

As per title and much apprecieated! (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: biglau
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Trim String in 3rd Column in Tab Delimited File...SED/PERL/AWK?

Hey Everybody, I am having much trouble figuring this out, as I am not really a programmer..:mad: Datafile.txt Column0 Column1 Column2 ABC DEF xxxGHI I am running using WGET on a cronjob to grab a datafile, but I need to cut the first three characters from... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: rickdini
6 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Large pipe delimited file that I need to add CR/LF every n fields

I have a large flat file with variable length fields that are pipe delimited. The file has no new line or CR/LF characters to indicate a new record. I need to parse the file and after some number of fields, I need to insert a CR/LF to start the next record. Input file ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: clintrpeterson
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Extracting a portion of data from a very large tab delimited text file

Hi All I wanted to know how to effectively delete some columns in a large tab delimited file. I have a file that contains 5 columns and almost 100,000 rows 3456 f g t t 3456 g h 456 f h 4567 f g h z 345 f g 567 h j k lThis is a very large data file and tab delimited. I need... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Lucky Ali
2 Replies