Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Editing lsblk output
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Editing lsblk output Post 303023094 by JAW on Tuesday 11th of September 2018 09:32:02 PM
Old 09-11-2018
Editing lsblk output

Code:
lsblk -o NAME | grep -A1 -w "sdh" |grep -v "sdh"
└─mpathw

Note the above output

I would like to create variable called $MPATH

echo $MPATH using the input of the above

Code:
echo $MPATH

mpatchw

Basically, I am trying to grab the NAME after the bar/dash configuration

------ Post updated at 09:32 PM ------

Code:
WORK=`lsblk -o NAME | grep -A1 -w "$DISK" |grep -v "$DISK"`
WORK2=${WORK:2}

Figured this out - I was not thinking at the time

Last edited by Scott; 09-12-2018 at 08:57 PM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Hex editing

Hi, I am new to UNIX. I have a text file where each line ends on the hexadecimal character "0A". In the file there are some records that contain the Hex characters "0D0A" which I need to replace by Hex "20". Is there a simple way to do this? Regards, Swanie (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Swanie
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

file editing

hi experts, please help me in writting the script.. i have two files file1 and file 2 i have to write a script which will take input parameters as file1 and file2 file1: ...... 1 2 3 4 file2: ..... 1 2 output (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: subhendu81
6 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

file editing

how to remove duplicate word in a file ? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: mail2sant
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Question on vi editing

If I have a text file which I am editing with vi and I perform the following editing. :1,$s/\<green\>/blue/g Later I decide to replace all ocurance of blue to red, then instead of writing the above editing line is there a way to recall it and work on it, instead of repeating the entire editing... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Tirmazi