Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting A better way to manipulate text Post 303022791 by da1 on Friday 7th of September 2018 07:16:23 AM
Old 09-07-2018
Code:
#!/bin/bash

AMI_TAGS="env=prod,city=xxx,country=XXX"

AMI_TAGS="${AMI_TAGS//,/ Key#}"
AMI_TAGS="Key=${AMI_TAGS//=/,Value=}"
aws ec2 create-tags --resources ami-1234 --tags "${AMI_TAGS//#/=}"

Executing with "bash -x" gets:
Code:
+ AMI_TAGS=env=xxx,city=xxx,country=XXX
+ AMI_TAGS='env=xxx Key#city=xxx Key#country=XXX'
+ AMI_TAGS='Key=env,Value=xxx Key#city,Value=xxx Key#country,Value=XXX'
+ aws ec2 create-tags --resources ami-1234 --tags 'Key=env,Value=prod Key=city,Value=xxx Key=country,Value=XXX'

Notice the single quotes after the "--tags" keywork. Weirdly enough, amazon doesn't accept this format and the tags are not being set.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to manipulate date?

Hi can u pls help me out with this as i am relatively new to unix. I need to use 4 different types of dates in my shell script * first day of the last(previous) month * last day of the last(previous) month * first day of the current month * (sysdate-1) yesterday's date for the current... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: phani
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Manipulate files

Hi everybody: I have a problem. I have a output files which have this pattern: number1 --space block1a - 7rows/10columns/65elements --space block1b - 7rows/10columns/65elements --space block1c - 7rows/10columns/65elements --space number2 --space block2a - 7rows/10columns/65elements... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: tonet
0 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

using sed to manipulate text in files