Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting A better way to manipulate text Post 303022786 by RudiC on Friday 7th of September 2018 05:03:49 AM
Old 09-07-2018
By just adding the Key= string in front:
Code:
AMI_TAGS="Key=${AMI_TAGS//=/,Value=}"

You could do so in sed by adding the substitution s/^/Key=/. But: using sed in a "command substitution" requires an expensive process creation, while variable expansion is done within the shell only.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to manipulate date?

Hi can u pls help me out with this as i am relatively new to unix. I need to use 4 different types of dates in my shell script * first day of the last(previous) month * last day of the last(previous) month * first day of the current month * (sysdate-1) yesterday's date for the current... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: phani
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Manipulate files

Hi everybody: I have a problem. I have a output files which have this pattern: number1 --space block1a - 7rows/10columns/65elements --space block1b - 7rows/10columns/65elements --space block1c - 7rows/10columns/65elements --space number2 --space block2a - 7rows/10columns/65elements... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: tonet
0 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

using sed to manipulate text in files

Hi, I have a slight problem in trying to manipulate the text within a file using the "sed" command in that the text i need changed has "/" slashes in. I have a .sh script that scans the "/db/sybbackup/" directories for any .dmp file older than 2 days and then to >> the information to a file called... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Jefferson333
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Script to manipulate logfile text