Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Unable to redirect output to a file Post 303020442 by mohtashims on Thursday 19th of July 2018 01:56:20 PM
Old 07-19-2018
Quote:
Originally Posted by disedorgue
Hi,
When you redirect file descriptor (as 2), you don't add space between fd and redirect...
So, try with:
Code:
version=`"$java_version" -version 2>&1`

and/or
Code:
$java_version -version 2>>/tmp/moht/java_version.log

Worked !! many thanks Smilie

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

redirect output to file?

Hi: I am currently working on a program which requires direct its ouput to a file here is an example ./proram arg_1 arg_2 when program ends all output will be arg_2 file Is that possible I am not a bad programmer, However I am stuck there. Can anyone give a hint? Thanks SW (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: slackware
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Redirect output to a file

Ahhhrrrggg I'm having a brain fart... I want to take the output of a command and redirect it to a file... This works.... $ man cp | cat >> copy_help but this doesn't keytool -help |cat >> keytool_help It just produces... these lines... more keytool_help ] ... ... (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: jimmyc
11 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

redirect output to log file

hello all, I'm invoking the program generate-report using backticks from my perl program and redirecting the output to the log file sge-stderr.log. But when i check the process using ps command it is spawing two processes where the below code is parent process and the program generate-report as... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: kalyanraj
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

redirect output to a file name

Hi all!! is possible to assign the output of some command to filename, i.e. grep_output.txt Otherwise, I want to open a new file which name is inside another, how can I do it? Thanks a lot! (7 Replies)