Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Install git on UNIX
Top Forums UNIX for Beginners Questions & Answers Install git on UNIX Post 303018421 by vbe on Wednesday 6th of June 2018 03:02:40 AM
Old 06-06-2018
Funny question, wget has nothing to do with installing GIT...
now we cant really reply on installation since it will depend of architecture, OS s I suppose each may have a package with their install procedure
About wget, is it because you are blocked ( in private lan, firewall ?)?

7 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. AIX

GIT issue in AIX 6.1

Hello, I recently installed GIT 1.8.1 on my AIX 6.1 machine referring to AIX Open Source Packages | Main / git website and am facing a few issues with it. Now if I login as root and issue git commands like git --version I get the response as shown : git version 1.8.1And I have tried creating... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: gaugeta
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Updating git clones

Hi, I'm fairly new to the git command and I'm trying to figure out how to check if your local clone is up to date with the master. I know you can do the same thing on packages with apt-get by using update and then upgrade. Is there something similar with git? (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: silverdust
0 Replies

3. Red Hat

[Solved] Cannot install git on RHEL 6

Hi, I am trying to install git on RHEL 6. From the research I have done I should be able to just say: sudo yum install git but it is not working (it says no package git is available). I am fairly new to linux and cannot figure this out. Thanks for any help you can provide. (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: dsabol
7 Replies

4. OS X (Apple)

Man git -add

I meant to type in: man git-add //no space but I typed this in instead: man git -add // space between git and -add There were all these spewing out; not quite sure what I did. I am new to unix and the terminal. Does anyone know what man git -add does and how do I undo... (2 Replies)