Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Copy lines from x to y to another file Post 303018106 by RudiC on Tuesday 29th of May 2018 08:34:30 AM
Old 05-29-2018
Try

Code:
head -7 file | tail +2
hello asia 
hello europe 
hello africa 
hello america 
hello antartica 
hello australia

This User Gave Thanks to RudiC For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Copy only the initial 10 lines from a file to another

Hi all, I'm new to shell scripting. I want to copy initial few lines(say first 10 lines) from a file to another file. There is no "head" command in our embedded system. sed & awk is there which I believe will do that, but I dont know how to. This is linux 2.6 (embedded) So please help me.... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: jockey007
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to copy multiple lines from a file to another using AWK?

Hi, I have a abc.txt file. In this file there is a SQL query which Iwant to copy and print it on another file.The query (for eg) is written like this: SELECT field1, field2, field3 from table1,table2 where <conditions> END I want to copy this query to another... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: jisha
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

copy lines from opne file to another

Hi all, I'm new to shell scripting. I want to copy the first N lines from a file to another file. Can someone please tell me how this can be done. Thanks Himi (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: HIMANI
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Script to capture new lines in a file and copy it to new file

Hi All, I have a file that gives me new line/output every 5 minutes. I need to create a script that capture new line/output besides "IN CRON_STATUS", in this case the new output is "begin ------ cron_status.sh - -----------". I want this script to capture the line starting from "begin ------... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: fara_aris
0 Replies