Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Recording user input from interactive shell script Post 303016608 by shoutcast on Monday 30th of April 2018 12:38:38 PM
Old 04-30-2018
Recording user input from interactive shell script

Hello, I want to start out by saying that I am fairly new to scripting and am looking for someone that can point me in the right direction.

Basically what I need is a way to run a interactive script that will prompt users with questions weather that be yes/no or a specific answer.. I want to be able to record the users input into a answer file so I can run the script unattended on another server.. I have searched and searched but I can't seem to find anything on the subject.. Is it possible? Can maybe some point me in the right direction.

Any help would be appreciated\

thanks

Steven

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to hide user inputted text for interactive unix shell script?

Hi everybody, Do you know how to hide the text for interactive unix shell script? Just like the case for inputting password during logon. Patrick (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: patrickpang
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

put an interactive script in background after taking input

i am trying to find a way to put an interactive script in the background after taking input from the user a few test lines i was trying: date echo "Enter location" LOCATION= read LOCATION sleep 100 sleep 200 date for this small example i want the script to as the user for the... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: epsilonaurigae
7 Replies

3. Homework & Coursework Questions

Help with Interactive / Non Interactive Shell script