Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to check day name is it saturday in bash shell script? Post 303015249 by Scrutinizer on Saturday 31st of March 2018 09:22:52 AM
Old 03-31-2018
I would just use a scheduler to do that. For example cron understands weekdays. The you do not need to check the date inside the script. You can have two command line options for full and incremental if you want to use the same script for both operations.

Last edited by Scrutinizer; 03-31-2018 at 10:33 AM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Write a shell script to find whether the first day of the month is a working day

Hi , I am relatively new to unix... Can u pls help me out to find out if the first day of the month is a working day ie from (Monday to Friday)...using Date and If clause in Korn shell.. This is very urgent. Thanks for ur help... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: phani
7 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Check if a day eg: saturday is the Last saturday of the month!

Hi, I need to develop a script to check for the day. If the day is a Saturday then the script should check if the Saturday is the last Saturday of the month so that certain set of instruction can be executed is it is the last Saturday. I do not want to use the crontab as this needs to be part... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: jobbyjoseph
9 Replies

3. Solaris

How to check for Saturday or Sunday

Hi , I have a date parameter passed in YYYYMMDD format , how can I check whether it is Sat or Sun on Solaris box , as we can do the same easily on linux box by using date -d YYYYMMDD '+a' . Any pointres will be really helpful . (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: harpreetanand
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Bash-Shell: If-Clause to check if file is empty