Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Help with a script that involves processes Post 303015057 by Novia96 on Tuesday 27th of March 2018 05:16:00 AM
Old 03-27-2018
I just need to create a file with the list of active processes until the file himself his killed. The choises are made from a menu in another bash file. I'm not sure how to do it beacuse I'm new in shell scripting.

The output in file csv will be, for example:

(name of file: report_20170318_123027.csv)

user1;19;ps;12:23:25;0:00:03
user2;53;firefox;13:00:13;0:03:40
user3;99;vim;13:22:53;1:00:25
user1;130;firefox;12:00:24;3:00:41

In the .csv file every line in composed by: user;pid;command;start;cputime but I know how to cut every information to compose every line. The only thing i need is to know how can i copy active processes in a file named like this.

The difficulty for me is to understand the commands i must use to:
- copy the list of active processes in a file
- name the file with date and time like i explain before

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need a script to kill processes with PPID of 1

Hi, I have been trying to come up with a script to run as a cron job to kill any processes that have PPID of 1. I have created a file that contains the PID and the PPID. How can I read this file and then execute a kill on any PID where PPID is 1. The file looks like this: 4904 1 4455 1... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: lbaysdon
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell script creating too many processes.

I have a shell script that I am running every 60 seconds, but it is creating this process to the point that it is causing the server to perfrom poorly. Below is my script, what can I change to prevent this? while true do java -classpath .....( all my classes here) >/dev/null 2>&1 ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Miller_K
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users