Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Creating a text based game using shell script. Post 303009029 by Othmane on Friday 8th of December 2017 10:02:33 AM
Old 12-08-2017
Hello rbatte1 thank you for your answer.
- Yes it is
- So far I've gotten to the menu.
- I don't get any errors since I haven't gotten really far.
- I'm using Ubuntu 16.04.
- As I said I'm just beginning in shell scripting thus I don't have any preferred tools right now.
- Nothing really.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell Script Poker Game

Original Code Taken from here: http://www.tldp.org/LDP/abs/html/bashver2.html#EX79 The code in the above link displays 4 unique 13 cards hands. I've modified it to deal a hand unique 2 card hand to 2 different players, then deal 5 unique community cards as in Texas Holdem (3 cards, then 1... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: earnstaf
8 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Dynamically creating text files using shell script

Hi All, I want to create a shell script which dynamically create text files. i am using the following script $i=1 while do cat > test_$i.txt done but while running the script it was stopping(the cursor not going to next step, i have to enter ctrl+c to make it stop). it is creating only... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: KiranKumarKarre
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

text based football game?

Is there a textbased football game (American) that I can download through ubuntu server edition? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: dadoprso
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Making a Text based game. Need help.

Okay so Zork sparked my interest in this. I have been learning to program for the last year and a half. I've dabbled in everything from Java to Ruby to PHP & XHTML & SQL, and now I'm on bash. I really like bash scripting. Its easy and fun. I just started two days ago. Pretty much I've been writing... (1 Reply)