Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Sendmail Fails to send emails from Linux server. Post 303003286 by drysdalk on Monday 11th of September 2017 05:17:50 PM
Old 09-11-2017
Hi,

Sorry for the delay in replying - glad you've gotten your Sendmail config generating correctly now at least. I'm afraid I can't really help you much further though, sorry. I've got no experience myself in setting up Sendmail to do what you're trying to do, as I've never had to set up a Sendmail box to do quite what you're trying to do.

From some Googling it seems it's certainly possible to get Sendmail to talk to an MSA rather than an MTA and authenticate against it using the authinfo mechanism previously discussed, but as you say you might need to get TLS and other things besides working for this to operate correctly. Perhaps others who have gone down this road and are reading this thread could advise you on how to proceed, if this is really something you absolutely have to do.

On that subject, though: again, is there a reason you have to do this, and pass the mail on to a server that is normally used for talking to mail clients and whatnot ? Why can't you just straight send this mail to its correct destination from your local server, without a relay or smart host or anything else in the way ? Or alternatively, is there not a mail server on site that already is set up to do e-mail correctly that you can just use as your smart relay, saving yourself all this trouble ?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Solaris

how to send mails to users on exchange server from sendmail/solaris(mailx)

Hi, Can anyone pls. tell me how to access Active directory from solaris. I am looking at solution by which I can send mail notification from the logs generated by scripts, to the users on Exchange server. I am trying for a Perl-LDAP module , but don't realy know how to go for it (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: ganeshh
5 Replies

2. Red Hat