Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Regex to identify illegal characters in a perso-arabic database Post 303002502 by jim mcnamara on Friday 25th of August 2017 11:44:28 PM
Old 08-26-2017
Try egrep or equivalent (extended regex or pcre), use alternation. I am not going to change locale here so example:
Code:
if [  grep -e  '(a|b|c|d|e|f)' $search_string ] ; then
  echo 'bad character'
fi

Where a b c d e f are each a bad character so presence of any or all is a bad character error.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Illegal characters in Servername / Path

Hi there. I wonder if anybody can help me. I am very new to this and a bit out of my depth. I have a .cmd file which sets various environmental variables for me. When I input a server name that does not contains dots (.) in the name it works fine. As soon as I place in a server name... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: goodjuju
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

how do I identify files with characters beyond a certain range.

I have a directory with hundreds of files that can not have data pass column 80. I do not know of way to combine "grep" and "cut" command. I tried: cat * | cut -c 81-120 |pg but it only shows me the line, not the file name. Any help would be appreciated. Been on this all... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: kcsunsun01dev
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Arabic characters in QNX4

I want to display Arabic characters in QNX4. This work was been done by a colleague several years ago but he didn't document his work. I installed fonts and I got this display (attached). Please let me know how can correct as per the initial display were working in Arabic (attached). Thanks... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: hbc
0 Replies

4. UNIX and Linux Applications

Identify server.database connection