Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Insert file after only first match Post 303002242 by SkySmart on Monday 21st of August 2017 12:37:04 AM
Old 08-21-2017
Insert file after only first match

i'm using the following code to add the entire content of a file (/tmp/resources.txt) to the line directly below the line containing a pattern (wonderful) in the file mainfile.txt:

Code:
sed '/^wonderful/ r /tmp/resources.txt' mainfile.txt

the problem is, it adds the entire content of /tmp/resources.txt under every occurrence of wonderful in the mainfile.txt.

I only want to add the file content after the first occurence of wonderful is found.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Insert text file only after the first match with SED

Hello, I'm new in Shell scripting but i should write a script, which inserts the license header out of a txt-File into the files in our Projekt. For the Java classes it runs without Problems but for XML files not. At xml-files i have to put the license Header after the xml-Header (?xml... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: PhoenixONE
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Insert few lines above a match using sed, and within a perl file.

Greetings all, I am trying to match a string, and after that insert a few lines above that match. The string is "Version 1.0.0". I need to insert a few lines ONLY above the first match (there are many Version numbers in the file). The rest of the matches must be ignored. The lines I need to... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: nagaraj s
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Match and insert in a sorted list

I have a sorted list (python) and I want to insert a string if it matches the pattern in list. Example : Sorted List Above list is in sorted order. I need to insert a name in sorted order and also if the name already exist then it should be inserted before the existing... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: pratapsingh