Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Beginners Questions & Answers Search for words starting and ending with Post 303000408 by RudiC on Tuesday 11th of July 2017 05:54:18 PM
Old 07-11-2017
Nice approach. You might want to add a plus sign or a star to allow for multiple words. And, not sure if two or more adjacent minus signs are acceptable?
This User Gave Thanks to RudiC For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

perl: reg.expr: combine starting and ending removal in one exprecion

Hello, I am new in perl and in regular exprecion; so I am looking for help (or an experienced advise.) The target is a triming spaces from a string: i.e., remove spases from begining and from end of a string. One of main point of a searched solution is performance: for current task it is... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: alex_5161
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to remove all words starting from a matching word in a line

Hi Guys, I have a file like this: wwwe 1 ioie ewew yyy uuu 88 erehrlk 4 ihoiwhe lkjhassad lkhsad yyy mmm 45 jhash lhasdhs lkhsdkjsn ouiyrshroi oihoihswodnw oiyhewe yyy ggg 77 I want to remove everything after "yyy" and including "yyy" from each line in the file. So I want:... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: npatwardhan
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

if statement to check files with different ending but same starting name

I am trying to check if files staring with filename but ending with diffent dates e.g. filename.2011-10-25. The code I am using is below if It works find only if one file is present but returns binary operator expected when there are mulptiple files. Please help me correcting it. I... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: ningy
5 Replies

4. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Pring starting and ending numbers using UNIX