Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users Help changing date format in the nth field Post 302999312 by RudiC on Friday 16th of June 2017 04:57:50 PM
Old 06-16-2017
Try
Code:
awk '{split ($8, T, "/"); $8=T[3] "/" T[1] "/" T[2]} 1' file2
Objects in the image backed up on 15/04/21 00:30:18 for filespace /test_vol_abcd in node BOS123456:
Objects in the image backed up on 15/05/21 00:30:14 for filespace /test_vol_abcd in node BOS123456:

Bonus question: You can't. How would you tell month from day in 11/10/17?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Changing the date format

Hi, I know there is a Q/A section and lots of posts regarding date command here. I am sorry to start a new thread. I am very new to shell scripting (actually i am working on my first program), so please forgive my ignorance. I could not find an answer to my problem else where so i posted it... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: Dream86
10 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Changing the format of date

Hi, There are lots of threads about how to manipulate the date using date +%m %....... But how can I change the default format of the commad date? $ date Mon Apr 10 10:57:15 BST 2006 This would be on fedora and SunOs. Cheers, Neil (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: nhatch
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Changing date format

Hi, I have a column in a table of Timestamp datatype. For Example : Var1 is the column 2008-06-26-10.10.30.2006. I have Given query as date(var1) and time (var1) I got the file as in the below format : File1: Col1 Col2 2008-06-02|12.36.06 2008-06-01|23.36.35 But the problem is... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: manneni prakash
7 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Changing from Excel date format to MySQL date format