Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Passwd without prompt
Operating Systems SCO Passwd without prompt Post 302998901 by bakunin on Friday 9th of June 2017 10:29:17 AM
Old 06-09-2017
Quote:
Originally Posted by jochen
thk you to reply quicky jgt.
I ll try.
No other way to fix the password prompt ?
I am no expert for SCO, but in most UNIXes (and i presume in SCO too) the passwd utility clears the buffer before using stdin, which is the reason why a pipeline won't work (in fact this is the desired effect - passwd is not supposed to work that way).

You can use a program to emulate an interactive session like expect to do what you want. See the expect manual for details, but it quite straightforward: you look for a certain prompt and then feed it a string, the program will think the string was entered by keyboard.

I hope this helps.

bakunin

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

passwd

I have to change more then 200 User at once the password (security-dday). The programm passwd will answers (new password + again) How can i do this in a script? thanks for answers (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: Erwin Stocker
5 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

passwd

hello, I don't why I can't change the password, when ever I try to run passwd I get the problem??!!! unixws1:ldb> passwd passwd: Changing password for ldb Permission denied regards, me (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: geoquest
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

etc/passwd

Can anyone explain the second and third fields in /etc/passwd. Thanks. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: nguda
2 Replies

4. HP-UX

passwd

Dear frnds, I have 250 users in passwd file with different passwords, how i can change the password to username+99. pls help out. regards (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: jestinabel
6 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

wc /etc/passwd