Sponsored Content
Operating Systems HP-UX Set, setenv or export? Confused between three options Post 302996368 by MadeInGermany on Tuesday 25th of April 2017 03:42:51 AM
Old 04-25-2017
A correction: ksh does not take .kshrc. It takes an environment variable ENV.
You can of course put the following into .profile
Code:
#ksh takes this startup file:
ENV=$HOME/.kshrc; export ENV

This User Gave Thanks to MadeInGermany For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

set, setenv

Well first of all I am a real Unix newbie. I am taking a course on it in University. I kind of understand set and setenv but, I think it si something that I should really understand. So I thought that I would try a forum out and see how good you guys really are. The question: Execute the... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: w6u6f
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How do I set permanent setenv !!!

Hello, I just want to know ow I can set permanent pathes or whatever using setenv command. I'm using c shell . regards, me (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: geoquest
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Difference between SET and SETENV

I never undestood exactly what's the difference between the SET and SETENV commands. One sets variables visible to all users and the other (SETENV) only to the specific user environment ? Thanks in advance, BraZil - thE heLL iS HEre :mad: !!! (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: 435 Gavea
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

difference between set and export

Hi, can anybody tell me what is the difference between set and export in unix. -Ashish (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: shriashishpatil
1 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

difference between EXPORT and setenv

Hi, Is there any difference between setting an environment variable by EXPORT and by setenv? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: dexkid
3 Replies

6. Shell Programming and Scripting