Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Reading a column from excel using shell script in Linux environment Post 302995946 by RudiC on Saturday 15th of April 2017 02:03:05 PM
Old 04-15-2017
May I presume you want to do more than just read those columns? Mayhap reformat or calculate something, or at least output them? Then, a desired output, and,say, a preferred tool to achieve that were helpful to put together a proposal.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

reading data from excel using shell script

Hi all I am new to shell scripting. I need to write a shell script that reads each row of an USER_ID colume in a excel file. the excel has around 10000 rows of data. Can someone gives me some example or advice what's best way to do this thanks (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: tiger99
11 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

reading environment variable from awk script

Hi All, I am using SunSolaris machine. I need to get the value of environment variable from awk begin. Then use that value as the start number of a sequence and use that in my print statement. But it is not reading the value from environment variable. I have tried the following: ... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: prashas_d
5 Replies

3. Windows & DOS: Issues & Discussions

Split Data in one column into 2 column in Excel using DOS or VBScript

Hi I have some data in my Excel File.However all the data is in one single column.I want to split it into two columns. Current Data: 1,Hi Everyone,I am 7,New To Dos,And 17,VB Script,i could 110,have tried this thing 1800,in UNIX Desired Output CELL1|CELL 2 1 |Hi... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: dashing201
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

script to format rows to column and export to excel