Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Beginners Questions & Answers Sed/awk join lines once pattern found Post 302995794 by Scrutinizer on Wednesday 12th of April 2017 12:55:15 PM
Old 04-12-2017
Hi krsnadasa,

1. Yes that is exactly right.
2. Yes that could be done, but then you need to test inside as well which is the case, so here I think it is not that practical. I did not use /^$/ since that would not work with your sample, seeing as its "empty lines" contain spaces. So I used !NF instead .

Last edited by Scrutinizer; 04-12-2017 at 05:25 PM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to awk/sed/grep lines which contains a pattern at a given position

Dear friends I am new to linux and was trying to split some files userwise in our linux server. I have a data file of 156 continuous columns named ecscr final. I want the script to redirect all the lines containing a pattern of 7 digits to separate files. I was using grep to do that,... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: anoopvraj
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

sed/awk to insert multiple lines before pattern

I'm attempting to insert multiple lines before a line matching a given search pattern. These lines are generated in a separate function and can either be piped in as stdout or read from a temporary file. I've been able to insert the lines from a file after the pattern using: sed -i '/pattern/... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: zksailor534
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

sed/awk : how to delete lines based on IP pattern ?

Hi, I would like to delete lines in /etc/hosts on few workstations, basically I want to delete all the lines for a list of machines like this : for HOST in $(cat stations.lst |uniq) do # echo -n "$HOST" if ping -c 1 $HOST > /dev/null 2>&1 then HOSTNAME_val=`rsh $HOST "sed... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: albator1932
3 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

sed, join lines that do not match pattern