Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Grepping a timestamp range and assigning it to a constant Post 302994687 by RudiC on Monday 27th of March 2017 04:54:11 AM
Old 03-27-2017
That little script is taking advantage of some of awk's idiosyncrasies / default behaviour. It creates a 24 element array B by splitting the given string using the (default if ommitted: scriptwide) field separator (here: set to ","). In the print statement, the index is calculated by interpreting $2's (timestamp) contents up to the first non-digit char (":") as a number (default behaviour), and adding 1, mapping e.g. 00:xx:xx to index 1.

7 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to compare a file by its timestamp and store in a different location whenever timestamp changes?

Hi All, I am new to unix programming. I am trying for a requirement and the requirement goes like this..... I have a test folder. Which tracks log files. After certain time, the log file is getting overwritten by another file (randomly as the time interval is not periodic). I need to preserve... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: mailsara
2 Replies

2. Programming

grepping a range of values

I need to return all records in a file starting with a row that says TABLE: <tabl name> lists of hexadecimal records TABLE: <some table> TABLe is a key word in the file. I know the name of the table I want to start with. I do not know the name of the table that I will end with. I just... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: guessingo
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

To check timestamp in logfile and display lines upto 3 hours before current timestamp

Hi Friends, I have the following logfile. Currently time in india is 07/31/2014 12:33:34 and i have the following content in logfile. I want to display only those entries which contain string 'Exception' within last 3 hours. In this case, it would be the last line only I can get the... (12 Replies)