Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Remove matching pattern on each line with number variations Post 302991898 by martinsmith on Friday 17th of February 2017 06:35:14 PM
Old 02-17-2017
Facebook

Hi Robin,

Thank you!

It's not a homework assignment. I'm just trying to clean up some data which i had extracted.

Basically i tried some commands with sed and awk but could not figure this out. I'm not a programmer so i don't know much about working my way around this Smilie I thought maybe someone here might have a solution for this hopefully.

Basically what i'm trying to accomplish is the following.

I have a data file which is about 40K lines long so it would take me forever to clean it up manually.

In my file i have data structured like this:
Code:
Random text 18:37Same text: 1,111"Some random text"
More random text 19:37Same text: 222"Some more random text"

After "Same text:" the numbers are randomized from 1 to 50,000.

I would like to replace everything from "Same text: RANDOMIZED NUMBER" with a tab space so the output can be:

Code:
Random text 18:37	"Some random text"
More random text 19:37	"Some more random text"

I'd appreciate any help for this if there is a way.

Thanks so much again

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

comment/delete a particular pattern starting from second line of the matching pattern

Hi, I have file 1.txt with following entries as shown: 0152364|134444|10.20.30.40|015236433 0233654|122555|10.20.30.50|023365433 ** ** ** In file 2.txt I have the following entries as shown: 0152364|134444|10.20.30.40|015236433 0233654|122555|10.20.30.50|023365433... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: imas
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Creating number by pattern matching