Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Get output of multiple pattern match from first field to a file Post 302990456 by MadeInGermany on Thursday 26th of January 2017 12:59:37 PM
Old 01-26-2017
Code:
#!/bin/sh
pserver=""
while read server path
do
  if [ "$server" != "$pserver" ]; then
    exec 3>>"$server".out
    pserver=$server
  fi
  echo "$server $path" >&3
done < datafile.txt

If the input file is sorted, it can become more efficient
Code:
#!/bin/sh
pserver=""
sort -k1,1 datafile.txt |
while read server path
do
  if [ "$server" != "$pserver" ]; then
    exec 3>"$server".out
    pserver=$server
  fi
  echo "$server $path" >&3
done < datafile.txt

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Output Multiple Field from dataBase file

I am fairly new in unix I was wondering if anybody can help me out with this: I am trying to output to a file the following fields; Field1 Field2 Field4 From a database file dataBase1. this is how the file looks: dataBase1 TABLE DATA Example ================== Table ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Dennz
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

how do i pattern match a field with awk?

hi, let's say $numbers = "324 350 587" an so on... what i'm trying to do is this: awk -v numbers="$numbers" '{if (numbers ~ /$2/) print $0, "bla bla"}' file # file looks like this: 214 ..... 215 ... 216 .... 250 ... 324 325 ... 350 something ... ... 587 ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: someone123
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

AWK: Pattern match between 2 files, then compare a field in file1 as > or < field in file2

First, thanks for the help in previous posts... couldn't have gotten where I am now without it! So here is what I have, I use AWK to match $1 and $2 as 1 string in file1 to $1 and $2 as 1 string in file2. Now I'm wondering if I can extend this AWK command to incorporate the following: If $1... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: right_coaster