Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Difficulty with CAT redirection in script Post 302990216 by demmith on Monday 23rd of January 2017 09:55:40 PM
Old 01-23-2017
The debug output is nothing but full path file names followed by my target file name which is
Quote:
./LocalConfigMaster.pri
. There are no errors and there is no output generated by the cat command. (from the command line) If I substitute anyone of these full path files names for the array variable, the cat command works just fine. These full path file names look something like this
Quote:
/fouo/release-develop/project1/LocalConfig.pri
. Again, works great from the command line, does nothing inside this script of mine. I am unfamiliar with
Quote:
set -xv
but not for long. :-) I am fairly new to the bash world. Thanks for your help and patience Don, it is much appreciated.

---------- Post updated at 09:51 PM ---------- Previous update was at 09:45 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by jim mcnamara
Don't you mean to use echo instead of cat? Or is the array element a filename? with a complete path....

Another point: You may want to declare outputArray as an array:

Code:
outputArray=()
# or
declare -a outputArray

I assume this is bash 3.2 or higher. Arrays were somewhat experimental in v3.1 bash.
What output do you get/see in stdout? Please post a sample.
Thanks Jim. The samples I read suggested cat. The array is working, I can verify that - I am getting the expected results, it's just this cat command that is doing nothing. I provided a small one-line sample output in my reply to Don. Thank you for the suggestions though. I'm a little green when it comes to bash. And I do not know what version it is but I'll find out.

---------- Post updated at 09:53 PM ---------- Previous update was at 09:51 PM ----------

Quote:
GNU bash, version 4.3.11(1)-release (x86_64-pc-linux-gnu)
---------- Post updated at 09:55 PM ---------- Previous update was at 09:53 PM ----------

Quote: