Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to auto correct a failing command? Post 302989909 by Ivo Breeden on Thursday 19th of January 2017 05:04:48 PM
Old 01-19-2017
But sometimes one can do someting with nonportable options.
One example is the echo command. For ages I used echo \t\b\n to echo tab, bel or newline. But this does not work anymore in bash. If you want echo to interpret escaped characters, you must use the -e option: echo -e \t\b\n .
So portable scripts often use this construction:
Code:
if echo '\t' |grep t >/dev/null 
then   
  # -e option needed to interpret \t \n etc.
  ECHOOPTS=-e
else   
  # No options needed
  ECHOOPTS=""
fi
echo $ECHOOPTS "col1\tcol2\tcol3\n"

So this is what you can do: use variables to store options.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. HP-UX

dd command failing

I am new to HP-UX. I have an 8GB drive that is my root drive, contained in a Volume Group. I would like to clone that drive to another drive, which is 18.4GB. The other drive is not in a volume group. I am using this simple command:# dd if=/dev/dsk/c0t6d0 of=/dev/dsk/c0t5d0The command... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: emsecrist
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Is this grep command correct?

Hi I need to know if I have got the following grep command correct. I wanted to find from myfile.txt all signed real numbers (e.g. +5.0, -78, but not 5.0, 5 are not). I have thought about it and decided it was this: grep '' myfile.txt but I was wondering if this was correct. If... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: rushhour
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

tty command failing

We have script like this in the .bash_profile.. #-# determine if session is interactive or in background if ]; then while true; do read -p "Do you wish to load profile yes or no?" yn case $yn in * ) source /opt/oracle/.profile; break;; * ) break;; *... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: talashil
2 Replies