Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Beginners Questions & Answers Exit() system call verses process signals Post 302989121 by MadeInGermany on Sunday 8th of January 2017 03:22:04 PM
Old 01-08-2017
The exit() is called by the process to terminate itself.
The (kill-)signals are sent to a process. A proccess, when it receives a signal, as a default action (defined in libc) terminates (via exit()).
A process can define signal handlers that are invoked when a signal arrives and typically do some cleanup and then often exit().
The signal 9 (SIGKILL) is special: it is not sent to the process but to the kernel; the kernel clears the process memory.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

Problem with signals - 3 process communication

Hello, I would like to ask you for a little help with program I'm working on. I have problems with signals and synchronizing processes (I'm quite new to this part of programming). Process "parent" creates new child process "child1" and this process creates new child process "child2". The... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Nightwright
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

how to differentiate system call from library call

Hi, Ho do I differentiate system call from library call? for example if I am using chmod , how do I find out if it is a system call or library call? Thanks Muru (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: muru
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

UNIX System Call for creating process

Hell Sir, This is chanikya Is there any System call which behaves just like fork but i dont want to return back two times to the calling func. In the following ex iam creating a child process in the called func but the ex prints two times IN MAIN. ex :- calling() { fork(); } ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: chanikya
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Process signals as administration