Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Beginners Questions & Answers Shell script to loop through files Post 302988787 by Rajendra Kalepu on Tuesday 3rd of January 2017 02:23:49 AM
Old 01-03-2017
Shell script to loop through files

Hi Team,

I am new to shell scripting. I have the below requirement

1) Say if i am searching for 20160815 in a directory /dir

2) Now i need to get the files present in dir whose time stamp in greater than or equal to 20160815

3) Then i need to find the string 20160815 from the set of files received in point 2

4) Now i need to get the final file name as output

I visited many forums to understand how to loop through files. Please help me in this regard

Thanks and Regards
Raj

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

If then else loop in Shell script

Hi Following is the code . When I give input as Bangalore,its dospalying Welcome to Hitech City. But say , if I select Delhi or US, its not displaying the corresponding message. Its still says Welcome to Hitech City. Seems that it not entering in the elif part. Please suggest. #!... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: pankajkrmishra
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help shell script to loop through files update ctl file to be sql loaded

I am currently trying to find a way to loop through files in a given directory and for each file modify a ctl file and sql load it. I have been using the sed command to change the infile, badfile parameters of the control file. I have not yet tried to sql load it. Requirement: files are ftp to... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: dba_nh
1 Replies

3. AIX

how to loop through non-empty files with shell script on AIX