Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting What is the meaning of ## in UNIX shell script? Post 302988663 by shuklajayb4 on Friday 30th of December 2016 01:39:54 PM
Old 12-30-2016
What is the meaning of ## in UNIX shell script?

Hi All,

I am new to unix shell scripting and I was documenting one of the unix script and encountered below statements -

Code:
for ii in `ls -1rt /oracle/admin/MARSCOPY/ext_files/fpm-ifpm/*.small.txt | tail -1 | awk '{print $1}'`
do
smallssim=${ii##/oracle/admin/MARSCOPY/ext_files/fpm-ifpm/}
prefix=`echo $smallssim | awk -F. '{print $1}'`

I tried to find the meaning of ## on google or other posts but could not find it.

Can anyone please help me understand meaning of the value smallssim?

Thanks in Advance.
Jay Shukla

Moderator's Comments:
Mod Comment Please use CODE/ICODE tags correctly as required by forum rules!

Last edited by RudiC; 12-30-2016 at 03:17 PM.. Reason: Changed CODE tags.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Meaning of unix-rt ldp file type

Hello I was wondering what this file type means... assuming it is some type of data. Is ldp - Linux Doc Program? What type of program would be used to read or interpret this file type? As you can see I'm not a developer, and don't review these types of files. But would like to view... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: jfmrts
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Meaning of ; in UNIX file?

Hello. I'm looking at a file that has a ; at the beginning of certain lines. Could someone please tell me what that means? Is it a comment? Is it an execute? Thank You (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: willdaw3
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Oot: Level 2 Unix Support? meaning