Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Comparing same column from two files, printing whole row with matching values Post 302985562 by RudiC on Friday 11th of November 2016 09:08:19 AM
Old 11-11-2016
Do you know the difference between printf (your comment in post#3) and print?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

regarding about printing row to column

Hello, I got data like that, =111 A= alpha B= 1 C= qq D= 45 F= ss G= 334 =1234 A= B= 2w C= D= 443 F= G= =3434 A= B= e3e (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: davidkhan
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Comparing two files and printing 2nd column if match found

Hi guys, I'm rather new at using UNIX based systems, and when it comes to scripting etc I'm even newer. I have two files which i need to compare. file1: (some random ID's) 451245 451288 136588 784522 file2: (random ID's + e-mail assigned to ID) 123888 xc@xc.com 451245 ... (21 Replies)
Discussion started by: spirm8
21 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Comparing the 2nd column in two different files and printing corresponding 9th columns in new file

Dear Gurus, I am very new to UNIX. I appreciate your help to manage my files. I have 16 files with equal number of columns in it. Each file has 9 columns separated by space. I need to compare the values in the second column of first file and obtain the corresponding value in the 9th column... (12 Replies)
Discussion started by: Unilearn
12 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Printing entire field, if at least one row is matching by AWK

Dear all, I have been trying to print an entire field, if the first line of the field is matching. For example, my input looks something like this. aaa ddd zzz 123 987 126 24 0.650 985 354 9864 0.32 0.333 4324 000 I am looking for a pattern,... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: Chulamakuri
5 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers