Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: HP C8000 with HP-UX 10.20
Operating Systems HP-UX HP C8000 with HP-UX 10.20 Post 302984833 by darkox on Tuesday 1st of November 2016 09:10:51 AM
Old 11-01-2016
Hammer & Screwdriver HP C8000 with HP-UX 10.20

Hi all,

I know that this will sound like from stone age but I am still using couple B180L and B2600 boxes running with HP-UX 10.20 Ace5.

Recently I got perfect condition HP C8000 workstation and just wondering if I can run it with 10.20?

All specs saying min requirements are 11i, however I am sure I've seen post somewhere before that it is possible to build 10.20 on this machine. Maybe I was dreaming?

Tried to cold install 10.20 and got the following results:

Booting...
HARD Booted.
ISL Revision A.00.38 OCT 26, 1994 (oh god, that's old...)
ISL booting hpux (;0):INSTALL

Then after couple seconds screens refreshed with the following message:
ISL> S/N 113-99006-103 BIOS

and just got ISL console. Unfortunately, I am not experienced enough to benefit from ISL console...

Is it a sign that workstation is not compatible or there is a way which I am not aware of to install 10.20 on C8000?

Any comments appreciated.

Thank you.

2 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. HP-UX

HP UX 11i and HP C8000

Hey, i want install HP UX 11i on HP C8000. When i start the C8000 i get a prompt. On this Prompt i write BOot P1 P1 is my DVD-ROM (IDE). I get the Message "ERROR: Not a boot path". When i write SEArch the Prompt said: P0 scsiA.6 HP73.4MAT3073NP P1 ide.1 ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: numx
2 Replies

2. HP-UX

Help needed HP UX 11.11i new install on C8000 Desktop messaging system error CAN'T FIX

Hi, I have a HP UX C8000 box , have installed 11.11i from 4 x cds numerous times to try to get a functioning Network or to try and get rid of this error on start up, after new install and 1st startup I get an error "The desktop messaging system could not be started" and then advice about... (12 Replies)