Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Beginners Questions & Answers Move the files that have been found Post 302984739 by AAAnni on Monday 31st of October 2016 03:47:46 AM
Old 10-31-2016
I see, so I need the slash there,
Thank you very much !

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to strip ^M at end of each files for all files found in current directory

I am trying to use a loop to strip of the funny character ^M at the end of all lines in each file found in current directory and I have used the following in a script: find . -type f -name '*.txt' | while read file do echo "stripping ^M from ..." ex - "$file" > $tempfile %s/^M//g wq! # mv... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: bisip99
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to check files and move the results to differents files?

Hi, I am a newbie to shell scripting. here is my objective: 1)The shell program should take 2 parameters - ie-> DestinationFolder, WebFolder 2)Destination folder contains few files that has to has be verified and deleted. 3)WebFolder is a folder containing a list of master files 4)It... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: sandhyagupta
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Move same files and issue ls -al command on remaining files

I know I can use an ls -l junk1 command to get a listing of all files in the directory junk1, but I was wondering how I'd go about going through the files in junk1 in a for-in loop and issuing the ls -l command on them one by one. This is what I have so far: for file in $(ls -a $1) do ls... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Trinimini
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Recursively move directories along with files/specific files

I would like to transfer all files ending with .log from /tmp and to /tmp/archive (using find ) The directory structure looks like :- /tmp a.log b.log c.log /abcd d.log e.log When I tried the following command , it movies all the log files... (8 Replies)