Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to run scripts sequentially in background? Post 302983300 by RudiC on Monday 10th of October 2016 01:56:18 AM
Old 10-10-2016
Then, remove the nohups and & s and run the entire script in background.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

sequentially run the shell scripts.

Hi All, I have a master script , which would run 4 scripts in sequence. When the first script gets executed , I need to check if a particular process has been completed. If it is completed , only then proceed with the second script. This same rule applies to script3 and script4. Can someone... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: nua7
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Run Processes Sequentially Using Process ID (PID)

Hi, I'm a newbie when it comes to using UNIX, and I'm hoping someone here can help me out. I have a set of processes that I want to run sequentially: process1.py process2.py process3.py I want to know I can run these sequentially using their process IDs (PIDs). Ideally, I want to... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: shelata
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Simutaneous scripts within a background task

Hi, I have a script that polls a directory using inotifywait. This script is always running in the background. Within that script, I have 2 commands that need to run simultaneously. When those scripts are finished, I have to fire off a 3rd. The problem is, the 3rd script is never being... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: gseyforth
0 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

background scripts run-help

Looking for a logic where say i have a script called parent_script which is used to call other 4 to 5 child scripts in background as.. cat parent_script # containing 65 lines 1 2 .. 35 while read child_script 36 do 37 ./child_script_name& 38 done< ${SCRIPT_LISTS} 39 40 # Need to have... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: michaelrozar17