Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting File Move & Sort by Name - Kick out Bad File Names & More Post 302981770 by jim mcnamara on Monday 19th of September 2016 09:49:44 AM
Old 09-19-2016
More specifically, to allow us to help you to create regular expression syntax and a script:
Quote:
Code:
1. what pattern elements are required - examples
    A. years: 1980 - 2016? i.e. is 1950 valid?
    B. file type the '.something' string at the end - .tif?
2. Does the create date of the file have to match the date in the file name?
3. Do you really want to delete or simply mv  a bad filename, rather than make it name-conforming?

Last edited by jim mcnamara; 09-19-2016 at 11:04 AM..
This User Gave Thanks to jim mcnamara For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

File Compare & Move between 2 servers

Greetings - I am a newbie in shell scripts. I have been thru the whole forum but there has been no similar query posed. The objective of my system is to have a unified filebase system. I am using RSync to synchronise files between the location & central server with both of them having the... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: evolve
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Finding & Moving Oldest File by Parsing/Sorting Date Info in File Names

I'm trying to write a script that will look in an /exports folder for the oldest export file and move it to a /staging folder. "Oldest" in this case is actually determined by date information embedded in the file names themselves. Also, the script should only move a file from /exports to... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: nikosey
6 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sort & Split records in a file