Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Using GNU Regex
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Using GNU Regex Post 302978983 by rthomas529 on Sunday 7th of August 2016 02:44:42 PM
Old 08-07-2016
Using GNU Regex

I'm just learning Regex and while testing my understanding I received some unexpected results.

I created example.txt with the text "abcddd". Running the command
Code:
grep --color '[^abc]d' example.txt

I received the results:
Code:
"abcddd"

with the first and second letter d highlighted in red.

So based on this return my statement meant- search the file example.txt for a string where the first character is not a,b, or c that is followed by the character d and highlight the found characters.

What is confusing is that in my LPIC guide the character ^ represents the start of line. In practice it seems to represent "exclude the following characters". Is there a difference in using it inside the brackets vs. outside brackets?

---------- Post updated at 01:44 PM ---------- Previous update was at 01:25 PM ----------

Apologize I actually found the answer in after reading more carefully.

The use of carat "^a" specifies that the line start with the character "a".

Last edited by vbe; 08-07-2016 at 05:28 PM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

gnu sed regex grouping not working?

Hello, from the gnu sed manual, I should be able to do this: `\(REGEXP\)' Groups the inner REGEXP as a whole, this is used to: * Apply postfix operators, like `\(abcd\)*': this will search for zero or more whole sequences of `abcd', while `abcd*' ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Allasso
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

regex help

I would like to search strings composed by only one type of charachter for example only strings composed by the charachter 'b' is it right? $egrep '\<(b+)+\>' filename Could be there some side effects? Regards. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: and77
1 Replies