Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Search a string in a file which is also present in another file in UNIX Post 302977814 by raj028 on Friday 22nd of July 2016 08:16:14 AM
Old 07-22-2016
Hi zaxxon,

thanks for your tips on formatting.

I didn't tried as i am new to unix.

I am just familiar with the commands, but not the scripting.

Thanks for understanding.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

search a word in a file present in tar file

i need to search a word in the tar file. if it is present just give me the file name please help me (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: junkbuster
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Unix search a string in the text file

File name : Sample.txt Actually i would like to read <schema>Oracle<schema> string from input file and return only once database as my output. Please advise me. Moved to appropriate forum. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: balajikalai
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need unix commands to delete records from one file if the same record present in another file...

Need unix commands to delete records from one file if the same record present in another file... just like join ... if the record present in both files.. delete from first file or delete the particular record and write the unmatched records to new file.. tried with grep and while... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: msathees
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

grep exact string from files and write to filename when string present in file

I am attempting to grep an exact string from a series of files within a directory and append that output to the filename when it is present in the file. I've been after this all day with no luck. Thanks for your help in advance :wall:. (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: JC_1
4 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

UNIX shell script to search a string in a file