Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to count the field and add String? Post 302977525 by vutung1991 on Tuesday 19th of July 2016 11:59:36 AM
Old 07-19-2016
yes this is a part of my homework but i don't know how to solve it. I think i don't need to count the field and just add to the end of the head line. I'm using linux Mint terminal.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

count the number of field in a string with deliminter

hi i am new to shell and would like ask some question about shell how am i suppose to count the number of fields with delementer example a:b:c:d would return me 4 how am i going to do it using shell?? what is the syntax for file locking? thanks a lot (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: yang
9 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Count of Field for Non-Empty

Hi Guys, I wanted to count the number of records for a particular field of a file. whose fields are separated by comma"," I fI use this command. cat "filename" cut -sd "," -f13 | wc -l This shows all the lines count including the blank values for the field number 13. I wanted to count... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Swapna173
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Awk-Group count of field

Hi, Suppose if i am having a file with following records as given below. 5555 6756 5555 4555 4555 6767 how can i get the count of each record using AWK. Eg:5555 count should be 2 4555 count should be 2 6767 count should be 1 ... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: tinivt
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Count number of occurences of a character in a field defined by the character in another field

Hello, I have a text file with n lines in the following format (9 column fields): Example: contig00012 149606 G C 49 68 60 18 c$cccccacccccccccc^c I need to count the number of lower-case and upper-case occurences in column 9, respectively, of the... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: s052866