Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting [bash] wanted: function with a clean way for multiple return values Post 302977229 by stomp on Thursday 14th of July 2016 04:31:30 PM
Old 07-14-2016
Quote:
OK, some "theory of programming 101" seems to be in order.
Thanks for you effort to help me. I'm not a programmer, but a senior system administrator with experience in a dozen different scripting languages and some mainly school-only experience with C/C++/Java. I read your thread in full but did not discover any additional knowledge, which I do not already have. But again, thanks for your kindness to write such extensive explanations for me.

Quote:
pattern is a filename matching pattern; not a regular expression. To get rid of the last || followed by any string of characters from the end of the variable var , you just need:

Code:
Code:
output=${out%||*}

Of course that is correct. I wrote ${out%||[0-9]*}, because I wanted a numerical value(Exit code) to be matched. That is not meant as a regex. Since it never should be zero chars long, which would be the meaning of the regex. It should be a number followed by something.

The reason was because of the not very likely case, the program output contains ||. I'm realizing now that this is not possible, because ${..%||*} matches only the last occurrance of the the pattern, which must be the one I appended myself. So my construction does not add any extra value.

Code:
OUT="${OUT:-<EMPTY>}"

Quote:
But, I have no idea why that is something you would want to do??? And, if that is something you want to do, that is not the way to do it.
Setting OUT to the string "<EMPTY>" is exactly what I'm accomplishing here. The reason is to explicitly point out in the logfile that the command did not output any result. I want it that way because it's a clearer message than just an empty string, which may have other reasons to occur.

---