Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Need to cut a specific pattern from a line Post 302976980 by mirwasim on Sunday 10th of July 2016 04:53:01 AM
Old 07-10-2016
I got below error.
I want to print the third field and the the url .
url is not at specific position every time, it can be at filed 10, 12 13 and so on.
i want script to pick where ever it is in the line
Code:
awk: syntax error near line 1
awk: bailing out near line 1

Moderator's Comments:
Mod Comment Pleae use CODE tags (not ICODE tags) when displaying full-line and multi-line sample input, sample output, and code segments.

Last edited by Don Cragun; 07-10-2016 at 05:59 AM.. Reason: Change ICODE tags to CODE tags.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

merge columns into one line after a specific pattern

Hi all, im a linux newbie, plz help! I have a file - box -------- Fox-2 -------- UF29 zip42 -------- zf-CW SNF2_N Heli_Z -------- Fox -------- Kel_1 box (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: sam_2921
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

To cut a specific line

Hi, I need to remove a specific line from a file.. For eg: From the html codings, I need to find the word "iframe frameborder" and cut it . I tried with find . -type f -exec grep -H 'iframe frameborder' {} \; > <filename> From the output of this result, I need to remove the "iframe... (14 Replies)
Discussion started by: gsiva
14 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to cut first line only from a text near a specific column without cutting a word

First I have to say thank you to this community and this forum. You helped me very much builing several useful scripts. Now, I can't get a solution the following problem, I'm stuck somehow. Maybe someone has an idea. In short, I dump a site via lynx and pipe the output in a file. I need to... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: lowmaster
7 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting