Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users Detecting unused variables... Post 302974874 by wisecracker on Sunday 5th of June 2016 08:43:41 AM
Old 06-05-2016
Hi all...
(Apologies for the delay but I have had other commitments. Also for any typos.)

@bakunin...
(Have you tried the code out at all to see what it does?)

1) I am not a software engineer, but a retired, mere amateur. ;o)
2) This project was for me to learn shell scripting, of which I know much more now than day one.
3) There are many functions inside the program that can't really be made simpler than they are and there are also some simple ones called regularly.
4) There are a lot of variables and all are used, there are no extras that have been found. I like _bash_'s flexibiilty and things that It, along with the Terminal, can do makes life interesting. Along the way I have discovered some strange effects of the hardware that I and I suspect nearly everyone else did not know.
5) Lastly a rewrite of the code would be difficult as it has evolved to become a tool that even I could not have imagined - back at the start of this project I bragged about doing this but never in my wildest dreams did I expect it to get where it is. It HAS had a write up in Linux Format Magazine and this is a shock to the system to say the least.
6) Fimally this script does everything EXCEPT build the external hardware for you...
A) Although unfinished, contains the circuits; so far.
B) Generates ALL necessary files plus have extras that you can use elsewhere as .WAV files.
C) Creates a working Audio Oscilloscope using text mode inside a terminal without the need for fancy graphics.
D) Uses 3 dedicated capture modes, along with 3 other modes that are platform specific.
E) Uses ONLY the mic/ear socket of an MBP 13 inch OSX 10.7.5 using the default bash terminal.
F) It has evolved over time.
G) And LBNL, I don't think this has ever been attempted anywhere elsebefore.