Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting awk output is not the correct count Post 302974519 by RudiC on Tuesday 31st of May 2016 10:34:50 AM
Old 05-31-2016
You've got duplicates in file1:

Code:
      2 CSF3R
      2 IL4R
      2 RANGRF
      2 SYNE1

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Count not correct

the count is off ... man ... help please. The Code open (FILE1, "xy1.TXT") or die "$0: Could not open SOURCEFILE.TXT: $!\n"; open (FILE2, "xy2.TXT") or die "$0: Could not open RESULTFILE.TXT: $!\n"; chomp(my @strings = <FILE2>); while (1) { foreach $pattern (<FILE1>) { ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: popeye
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

IPv4 addresses: count/output and Awk/Sed

Hi forum. I am fairly new to scripting and use a simple script to process e-mails for my work. These e-mails contain a list of IPv4 IPs that I process and seperate into text files, which are then attached to a larger, 'digest' e-mail. I also put some of the output from the text files into the... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: laebshade
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Conversion of Exponential to numeric in awk- not correct output

Hi All, I have 1 million records file. Using awk, I am counting the number of records. But as the number is huge, after crossing a number, awk is displaying it in exponential format. At the end, I need to verify this count given by awk with expected count. But as it is in exponential format,... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: ssunda6
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

AWK not giving me correct output.

i have a line like this in my script IP=`get_IP <hostname> | awk '{ print $1 }' echo $IP the problem is get_IP <hostname> returns data formated as follows: ip 1.1.1.1 name server_name the code above returns 1.1.1.1 server_name and i just need the 1.1.1.1 I have tried to add "|... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: mcdef
5 Replies