Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Searching a file - and assigning responses to variables (or something) Post 302972797 by sabster on Wednesday 11th of May 2016 01:05:11 AM
Old 05-11-2016
Thanks for the help guys - I got everything polished up and working great.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Assigning file attributes to variables

Hi, I'm trying to assign the permissions, owner and group of a file to seperate variables, but using ls -l filename | awk '{print $1 "\t" $3 "\t" $4}' gives the owner as tom.ja instead of tom.james Is there any way to expand it so i get the full name, or is there an easier way to get them... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: olimiles
5 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Searching a text file and assigning it to a variable

Hi Gurus, I am new to unix.I have a requirement as below I have text file like a.txt which contains a.txt hi hello process update status Ok to Proceed no issues good data arrangement My requirement here is i need to read the file and check for the words "OK to Proceed" and if... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: pssandeep
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

File Field Replacement, Assigning Fields to Variables, Lists/Arrays?

Okay, I've made threads on extracting fields and comparing strings in separate files in .csv's. I've written the following code with intentions of learning more. I just want this one question answered: How can I assign fields from a file(comma separated) to variables? My goal is to check... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: chickeneaterguy
0 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Perl Help - Assigning variables to text file contents