Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Python passing multiple parameters to functions Post 302972578 by ctrld on Sunday 8th of May 2016 03:48:56 AM
Old 05-08-2016
Python passing multiple parameters to functions

Hi,

I am a beginner in python programming. In my python script have a main function which calls several other functions. The main function gets its input by reading lines from a input text file. I call the main function for every line in input text file through a loop.

Code:
def main(line):
var1 = line.split('=')[1] var2 = line.split('=')[2] var3 = line.split('=')[3] var4 = line.split('=')[4] var5 = line.split('=')[5] var6 = line.split('=')[6] subfunc1(var2,var3,var4,var5,var6) subfunc2(var1,var2,var3,var4,var5) subfunc3(var1,var2,var3,var4,var5) subfunc4(var1,var2,var4,var5,var6) subfunc5(var1,var2,var3,var4,var5) subfunc6(var1,var2,var4,var5,var6)
#Main #input data is read as list with name inputlines for line in inputlines:
main(line)

How can I avoid passing multiple variables to the subfunction and at same time how can I avoid the split operation in all these subfunctions.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

passing command line parameters to functions - sh

All, I have a sh script of the following tune: function a () { #functionality.. } function b () { #functionnlity.. } function check () { # this function checks for env and if all fine call build } function usage () { #sh usage details } function build () { #calls either a or b or... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: vino
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Passing arrays between functions

Hi, I have a function that hold 3 arrayies. I need to pass them to another function as an input, for further use Could you please explain how to do that. Thanks (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: yoavbe
5 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

passing multiple files as parameters