Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Solaris SunOS 5.5.1 usage of Makefile command in make file Post 302971839 by rajujayanthy on Tuesday 26th of April 2016 08:32:16 AM
Old 04-26-2016
SunOS 5.5.1 usage of Makefile command in make file

I am new to Solaris and compilation using make files.
I have a code base which is organized into different folders. At the root folder is a master make file and in the sub directories, there are make files for that particular folder.

In the make files present in subdirectories, I am seeing that "Makefile" is being used as a command for generating .obj files. For e.g.
Code:
 abc.obj : abc.asm \
 ../kernal/xxx.def \
 ../kernal/yyy.def \
 ../kernal/zzz.def \
 ../kernal/queue.def \
 Makefile \
 aaa.def \
 bbb.asm \
 ccc.asm \
 ddd.mac

Some other line
Code:
 abc.obj : abc.asm Makefile $(BB_INCS) xxx.def

Below are my questions.

1. Why is "Makefile" being used as a command? What does it signify? It is not defined anywhere in any other make file also.
2. What is a .mac file in Solaris? what is it's purpose?
3. What is the use of .def file in SOlaris? What is it's purpose?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

make and clean in a single rule in the makefile.

Hi, This stems from the following thread https://www.unix.com/showthread.php?t=18299 I have a makefile which makes either executables or a shared library. i.e. make -f unix.mak will create the executables and make -f unix.mak libolsv will create the shared library. Since these have to be... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: vino
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Migration of binary file from Sunos 5.8 to Sunos 5.9