Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting awk - Multi-line data to be stored in variable Post 302971275 by chill3chee on Monday 18th of April 2016 12:57:51 PM
Old 04-18-2016
Thank You MadeInGermany; The first solution did work; however the second solution did produce the same output as my post (not able to recognize ; as RS) Can you please explain how
Code:
[@]

different is to that of a simple ones;
Code:
awk -F "@"....

Code:
awk -F "[@]"...

I am not able to understand the difference as I am learning awk Smilie

Edit:
Does [] ignore the conventional "\n" as RS unless specified other than this in all cases and does awk -F "@" considers the RS as "\n" when the specified RS is not specified or found in the entire line..

Last edited by chill3chee; 04-18-2016 at 02:08 PM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

AWK Multi-Line Records Processing

I am an Awk newbie and cannot wrap my brain around my problem: Given multi-line records of varying lengths separated by a blank line I need to skip the first two lines of every record and extract every-other line in each record unless the first line of the record has the word "(CONT)" in the... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: RacerX
10 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

AWK Multi-Line Records Numbering Problem

I have a set of files of multi-line records with the records separated by a blank line. I needed to add a record number to the front of each line followed by a colon and did the following: awk 'BEGIN {FS = "\n"; RS = ""}{for (i=1; i<=NF; i++)print NR,":",$i}' ~/Desktop/data98-1-25.txt >... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: RacerX
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to get the string stored in a variable in a line???