Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Replace character in odd or even lines Post 302970808 by emare on Tuesday 12th of April 2016 04:01:23 AM
Old 04-12-2016
Quote:
Originally Posted by RudiC
Why don't you do the entire thing in one single awk script?
Because my awk knowledge is limited Smilie
Complex awk commands are nice but more difficult to understand and modify by other people working with me.

---------- Post updated at 10:01 AM ---------- Previous update was at 09:59 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by vgersh99
to simplify the even/odd awk's into 1
Code:
awk -v q="'" 'gsub(/;/, "</td><td bgcolor=" q ((NR%2)?"#E0E0E0" ? "#A0A0A0" ) q ">")' $fileIN".tmp1" > ${fileIN}_evenOdd

Thanks, that's good.
Can you please explain what the q is ?

Last edited by emare; 04-12-2016 at 09:53 AM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Replace a perticular character of all lines of a file

Hi all, I am new to UNIX, so sorry if my question seem stupid to u. well i want to replace the first character of first 30 lines of a file, only if the first character is h. and in anothe script i want to replace a particular string/character say hello/h of a file.Condition: It should... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: abovais
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

odd character (^M) from .sh when chagining to .ksh

// AIX 5.3 I am trying to use .sh after changing it to .ksh Obviously, it doesn't like the file extension change. I am seeing a lot of odd characters (^M) like below: Init_Part2 ()^M^M {^M^M AWTRACE "AW SET"^M^M set | grep -e CFG_ -e OUTDIR_ENV^M^M AWTRACE "AW SET"^M^M ^M^M if ;... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Daniel Gate
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Odd Control Character issue ^A