Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Replace character in odd or even lines Post 302970733 by emare on Monday 11th of April 2016 11:52:24 AM
Old 04-11-2016
Holy cow ! How can I be so .......Smilie

Thanks a lot !

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Replace a perticular character of all lines of a file

Hi all, I am new to UNIX, so sorry if my question seem stupid to u. well i want to replace the first character of first 30 lines of a file, only if the first character is h. and in anothe script i want to replace a particular string/character say hello/h of a file.Condition: It should... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: abovais
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

odd character (^M) from .sh when chagining to .ksh

// AIX 5.3 I am trying to use .sh after changing it to .ksh Obviously, it doesn't like the file extension change. I am seeing a lot of odd characters (^M) like below: Init_Part2 ()^M^M {^M^M AWTRACE "AW SET"^M^M set | grep -e CFG_ -e OUTDIR_ENV^M^M AWTRACE "AW SET"^M^M ^M^M if ;... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Daniel Gate
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Odd Control Character issue ^A

Sorry to bug you, but my sed is failing me, I have a file auto generated from abinitio, it has a string of chars ending with a line break, and then it has added a ^A character, I can remove this is vi by using the following %s/^A//g (where ^A is ctrl v and control A), however when I try to sed... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: badg3r
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

print ODD lines

i want to print ODD lines like first ,third then fifth and so on 234,567,ABC,KJL 234,565,ABD,KJL 234,568,ABE,KJL 234,560,ABF,KJL 234,563,ABG,KJL 234,562,ABH,KJL O/P will be like 234,567,ABC,KJL ----->first liine 234,568,ABE,KJL ----->third line 234,563,ABG,KJL ----->fifth line... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: aaysa123
6 Replies