Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Quick and easy way to comment out multi lined print statements Post 302970657 by cokedude on Sunday 10th of April 2016 03:23:28 AM
Old 04-10-2016
Quote:
Originally Posted by RudiC
How about "compiler directives" for conditional compiling? Add some #ifdef directives to create debug or nodebug versions in next to no time.
Can you explain how the #ifdef directive works? I have never used that before.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Cragun
Certainly not a generic solution, but it seems to work for your coding style:
Code:
#!/bin/ksh
awk '
$1 ~ /^printf[(]/ {
    NoChange = $0
    Comment = "//" $0
    while($NF !~ /[)];$/) {
        getline
        NoChange = NoChange "\n" $0
        Comment = Comment "\n//" $0
    }
    print (NoChange ~ /ACCEPT|REJECT/) ? NoChange : Comment
    next
}
1' ${1:-file.c}

As always, if you want to try this on a Solaris/SunOS system, change awk to /usr/xpg4/bin/awk (nawk on Solaris/SunOS systems won't work with this awk script either).

If you invoke this script with no operands and the file file.c contains:
Code:
            cmp_str9 = strcmp("return", strings_line_tokens[lower_bound_of_big_boy_counter ]);
            printf("4006 lower_bound_of_big_boy_counter %d \n", lower_bound_of_big_boy_counter);
            printf("4007 strings_line_tokens[lower_bound_of_big_boy_counter] %s \n", 
            strings_line_tokens[lower_bound_of_big_boy_counter]);
            //int
            if(cmp_str9 == 0)
            {
                printf("3402 checking return stuff \n");
                return_match_flag = 1;
                lower_bound_of_big_boy_counter++;
                get_function_type_for_proper_return(symbol_table_functions, type,id, 
                                         scope_char, symbol_table_functions_counter, function_type_for_proper_return);
                printf("3407 lower_bound_of_big_boy_counter %d \n", lower_bound_of_big_boy_counter);