Sponsored Content
Operating Systems AIX Receiving: 4B436A3D 0313233216 T H fscsi0 LINK ERROR Post 302968896 by hicksd8 on Tuesday 15th of March 2016 04:24:47 PM
Old 03-15-2016
I see this thread has been open for over a day without resolution so, although I'm not qualified to answer the specifics, I thought I'd chip in anyway.

Firstly, my disclaimer. I'm not an AIX expert by any means and I have no knowledge of the LP11002. However, I do know the QL2464 very well and I was the technical director of a storage distributor many years ago and we shipped loads of fibre channel kit. So all I can do is tell you where I'd be looking in the first instance. I could well be completely wrong but here goes...........

The symptoms you describe indicate that everything is fine until the link gets really busy, then it screws up. Normal FC payload is 2112 giving a MTU of 2148 bytes total allowing for headers, etc. Some FC adapters support "jumbo" packets with a payload up to 9000 giving a MTU of 9036 bytes with headers. If the adapter supports jumbos, whether jumbo packets are enabled or not is a setting in the adapter BIOS. So if one adapter is set for jumbo and the other doesn't support jumbo then everything will work find with low traffic but when things really get going one of the adapters suddenly sends a jumbo packet that the other adapter cannot understand. So if I was fighting this issue I would look at both adapters and set the max payload to 2112 or the max MTU to 2148 or set the "support jumbo packets=no". Then test to see if the problem has gone away.

Needless to say, should you get to a known good working situation only change one thing at a time afterwards and fully test that it hasn't screwed up again.

I have no clue whether this will help you or not.

Good luck anyway.

Last edited by hicksd8; 03-15-2016 at 05:35 PM..
These 2 Users Gave Thanks to hicksd8 For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

Link Edit Error, Help!!!!!