Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Sun Ultra 5 new user
Operating Systems Solaris Sun Ultra 5 new user Post 302968816 by _JonB_ on Monday 14th of March 2016 05:16:00 PM
Old 03-14-2016
So you did, apologies! Smilie

I have lots of reading to do, clearly. I have some plans for it. I'm upgrading it with an Ultra 10 case, 1Mb RAM, 60 gig SSD and Solaris 8. I may fit a 440mhz processor card too, because it's got 2mb of L2 cache. Will see how fast it is without, first.

My problem is that, while I used Solaris and OpenDesktop professionally as a software developer, I never did any system admin. Employers didn't tend to hand root passwords to devs back then! So it's new direction for me, and a more intimate relationship with the OS.

It'll be fun... Smilie

In the meantime, thanks for your advice.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX Desktop Questions & Answers

Using a Sun Ultra 5 at work

I wouldn't call myself exactly new to Unix. I've played with Linux before so I can get around alright. I just have never really learned the basics, like setting a user's path. How do I do that on my Sun station? Obvioulsly, I've got several different bins, but I can only use the commands in... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: skinnell2
1 Replies

2. UNIX Benchmarks

Sun Ultra 2 Solaris 8

Sparc Ultra2: Notes prtdiag: System Configuration: Sun Microsystems sun4u Sun Ultra 2 UPA/SBus (2 X UltraSPARC-II 296MHz) System clock frequency: 99 MHz Memory size: 768 Megabytes ========================= CPUs ========================= Run Ecache CPU CPU... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: tnorth
0 Replies

3. UNIX Benchmarks

Sun Ultra 30 Solaris 8

Sun Ultra30 Solaris 8 Notes: ... Results: System -- SunOS box 5.8 Generic_108528-23 sun4u sparc SUNW,Ultra-30 Start Benchmark Run: Fri Sep 12 11:59:12 EDT 2003 1 interactive users. Dhrystone 2 without register variables 502087.7 lps (10 secs, 6 samples) Dhrystone 2 using... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: tnorth
2 Replies